Post kids belly

I absolutely loath my post pregnancy/post kids belly.  I hate that I am superficial and am negative about my body,but it’s true.  I don’t even mind the stretch marks that go from one hip bone to the other and stretch an inch or two past my belly button.  It is the fact that my skin will never be the same tightness as before.  No matter how many crunches, planks or leg lifts I do my exterior won’t match up to the muscle beneath. I grieve for my pre baby body, but when I look at my beautiful boys, and focus on the fact that my petite body grew two healthy, 8+lb baby boys I realize it is all worth it.  If I focus on strengthening my core, and stop focusing on my physical appearance then I feel good, and I feel beautiful despite my flaws.  For me strength and muscle=confidence & beauty.

I have done a lot of research on post pregnancy abdomens, and I myself had Abdominal Separation (Diastasis Recti).  There are many great articles on the Internet, but every women should see a physical therapist after having kids.  Most women think crunches are the best thing to do post baby, but it can actually make things worse.  My physical therapist gave me several exercises to do to strengthen my pelvic floor. They are very boring, not my style of working out, but super important!!!  I found a great article that gives examples of the exercises that I was given.

http://inspiredrd.com/2013/11/5-exercises-to-heal-diastasis.html

I will say that since increasing my protein, cutting out processed food, drinking more water and having my one shake a day, my stomach has gotten way better!  It is flatter and feels tighter then I ever thought it could be.  Maybe one day I will get courageous enough to post before and after pictures.

“For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mothers womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well” -Psalm 139:13-14


Leave a Reply

